Braithwell, Micklebring and Clifton History and Heritage

Contact us

We hope that you are enjoying the contributions that we have put up on this website so far. Many stories, photos and articles are waiting in our archive and will be added as we go along. Often we need more information and contacts with people who have been ‘locked down’ to complete a story. We’d like to thank Bill Wright and the Braithwell, Clifton and Micklebring Information Exchange for several leads.

Do you have any (publishable) tales to tell about the three villages? Are there pictures and documents out there that could be added to the present pages or make a further contribution to our picture of life in the 3 Villages?

  • Who are the people in our photos?
  • What was school like?
  • Who lived in the older houses and who came to live in the villages more recently?
  • What has ‘lock down’ been like?
  • Could you share the history of your house?
  • How has the community changed since you have lived in Braithwell, Micklebring or Clifton?

Perhaps we have not got details quite right and you could give us a better version!


Wherever possible the Braithwell, Micklebring and Clifton: History and Heritage Group will adhere to the UK copywrite Law When Publishing photography. If there is an image posted on this site, which you believe has provenance that has not been used correctly, please contact us and we will do our utmost to rectify the error immediately.


Ruddle Centre.jpg

As soon as possible, the History and Heritage Group will return to meeting once a month at The Ruddle Centre, Doncaster Rd, Braithwell S66 7BA, South Yorkshire. We will publicise dates and times as soon as we can and we hope that you will join us for coffee/tea and biscuits.

Meanwhile, if you would like to contribute to our archive or become involved in the Events we run, please use our Email address and one of us will get back to you by email or phone. We hope you can use this link to send us email, but if it doesn't work use this address:


Our Committee Members are: Trudy Pankhurst Green (Temp Chair), Eleanor Hudson (Treasurer), Cheryl Brewster (Website). Christine Hodgetts, Allen Smith and Thomas Best